Motel

Inspired by Huntley Muir

A new duet by Rosie Kay inspired by the work of artists Huntley Muir and their series of Rooms paintings, who collaborate with Kay in this work.

A woman in a room. A man in another room.

Are we looking at their future together, or are we witnessing memories of their destructive, dangerous, delicious past? Motel explores the nothing spaces we inhabit that hold our lives, the time and space in between real life, where illicit affairs occur, and secret relationships play out, which evoke our deep, sensuous emotions.

Dark, sexy and exciting, this brand new work by leading UK choreographer Rosie Kay, showcases her sense of macabre, exquisite movement and dark, black humour.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Inspired by the work of Huntley Muir
Choreographed by Rosie Kay
Performed by Shelley Eva Haden & Oliver Russell
Design by Huntley Muir
Lighting Designer Mike Gunning
Music by Ryoji Ikeda
Producer James Allenby

Funded by:
Arts Council England
Individual Donors: Article19, Bruce Marriott, Caroline Edwards, Chris Unitt, Clare May, David Curtin, Dictynna Hood, Fee Reynolds, Fiona, Gai Gherardi, Gaynor Russell, Glyn Buckler, Helen Kay, Helga Henry, James Turnbull, Jenny Smith, Josh Schweitzer, Joy Silverman, Kate Welham, Marcus Banks, Margo Willits, Marion, Naresh Ramchandani, Nicholas Marquez-Grant, Prue Skene, Rob Macpherson, Robert Russell, Simon Harper, Stefan Kay & Susan Huntley.
Commissioned by
mac Birmingham
Supported by DanceXchange

Created in 2016, Motel premiered in a double bill with Double Points: K in September 2016 at mac Birmingham. UK Tour 2016 Birmingham, mac birmingham Thu 15 & Fri 16 Sep Bristol, Circomedia Thu 22 Sep Newcastle, Dance City Sat 24 Sep Swindon, Swindon Dance Fri 30 Sep Greenock, Beacon Arts Centre Tue 11 Oct Derby, Déda Thu 13 Oct Wolverhampton, Arena Theatre Fri 14 Oct Salisbury, Salisbury Arts Centre Wed 19 Oct Bournemouth, Pavilion Dance South West Thu 20 Oct Musselburgh, The Brunton Fri 21 Oct Liverpool, Capstone Theatre Thu 10 Nov